Did you know that the National Library is mandated by law to act as depository centre for all publications that are published in or with an interest to Kenya?

The Books and Newspapers Act, Cap 111 of the Laws of Kenya (Miscellaneous amendments no. 22) of 1987, states that, every publisher in Kenya is required to deposit two copies of each title published, with the knls Director within 14 days of publishing the title at the publisher’s cost. These legal deposits (together with books published outside Kenya, but with an element of Kenya and those published by Kenyan writers outside Kenya) form the National Collection, “Kenyana".

The national library is also the sole agency in Kenya with the mandate to issue the International Standard Book Numbers (ISBN) to Kenyan Publishers. ISBN is a unique identification number assigned to each title of publication. Publishers who require issuance of ISBN can contact the National Library Division at the Kenya National Library Services offices in Community area. You can also send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information. To know more about the National Library, Click here