Knls libraries scoop top positions in LOYA

Library of the Year Award (LOYA) is an annual event where all libraries compete in different categories and excellence, innovation and creativity are recognized and rewarded. The organizers and the library fraternity believe that the development of Kenya will only be realized if access to knowledge for all is given top priority. The message to all librarians and information managers is that they must play a central role in providing information services.

The prerequisite for this is to have modern, well equipped and user-friendly libraries manned by well trained librarians and information professionals. The Library of the Year Award aims to inject more professionalism, creativity and innovation in the library scene in Kenya.

Libraries were allowed to participate in the following categories:

  1. Academic
  2. large public
  3. Community
  4. School
  5. Special

Participating libraries were assessed in the following areas among others:

  • Quality and innovation in provision of library and information services
  • Integration of modern technologies in service provision
  • Promotion of local content
  • Relevance of the services provided to the local community
  • Sustainability of the services and programmes
  • Provision of multicultural library services.

The annual entries have continued to grow with 75 entries received in 2012, 70 entries in 2011 and 36 during the first Maktaba Awards in 2010

The winning libraries for 2012 are as follows:







Overall Winner


Kenya Methodist University Library

Aga Khan Academy Mombasa Library

Coastal Resource Centre Mombasa

National Museums of Kenya Main Library

knls Buru Buru Library

Kenya Methodist University Library


Kenyatta University Post Modern Library

Makini School Nairobi Library

Slums Development and Resource Centres (SIDAREC)

Nation Media Group Library

knls Meru



KCA University Library

Maryhill Girls High School Library

Mathare Youth Sports Association Library

Kenya Institute of Education ECD Library

knls Thika District Library


This project is modeled on the German Library of the Year Award. Kenya is the first country in Africa to introduce an annual national award for libraries. It is for this reason that all the libraries that participate in the national Library of the Year Award (Maktaba Award) have every right to be proud of their achievement.